India Food Club

Connecting all foodies in India….

BURMA BURMA – with LBB

Burma Burma, in collaboration with Little Black Book, Delhi had an official opening on Thursday night, the 17th of June. As the name suggests ,Burma Burma is a traditional is hundred percent vegetarian authentic, Burmese cuisine restaurant.

As I walked into Burma Burma located in Gurgaon’s trendy Cyber Hub, I felt like I had been transported to a Buddhist shrine. The interiors and the rustic aroma only added to the experience.

IMG_20160616_205845   IMG_20160616_210339

 

I sat down and began to browse through the preselected menu for the evening. There was a selection of soup, salads, appetizers and main course.

I was almost overwhelmed when I saw the menu.

We were asked to pick our soup. It was either a samosa soup or a bean curd soup. My friend was hell bent on getting the samosa soup so I decided to get the bean curd. While the samosa soup was more tangy and also spicy, the bean curd soup was more dal like. Personally, I preferred the bean curd but the samosa soup seemed to be more of a hit.

After this, we were brought three types of salads; a tea leaf salad , sunflower and crispy wheat flakes salad and the raw mango salad. I was most impressed with the tea-leaf salad that had nuts, sesame seeds, tomatoes and of course tea leaves. This salad contains about 17 odd ingredients.

IMG_20160616_205127.jpg

 IMG_20160616_204223

 

After we had our fill of the three types of salads, we were brought the chilly tangy chickpea tohu, my friend and I both agreed this would great with beer ! In addition to this, we were also served a Tohu mash with parantha and brown onion and roasted chilly steamed buns. While one may give the buns a miss, but the dried Tohu and parantha, as boring as it sounds was close to perfection ! The Tohu was cooked just right and had the perfect flavour.

IMG_20160616_214150.jpg

It was now time for the main course. Yes,there was a main course that followed this spread! There was a traditional khowsuey, rice with a spicy peanut chutney and Burmese fried rice with a spicy veg curry. I freaked out on all three and yes,asked for multiple helpings. The khowsuey was a perfect coconut flavour while the rice and peanut chutney came in a small banana leaf boat looking structure which I polished off in all of thirty seconds.

Being a hardcore meat lover I am still surprised that I enjoyed vegetarian food this much !

 

To help us digest this inasane quantity of food,we were given a lavender vanilla tea and it was love at first sip. Burma Burma, in addtition to its fantastic food has a wide selection of teas as well.

By the time dessert came around, I was too full to even think about food. But there was a durian ice cream, smokey avocado and honey ice cream and a coco pina. Both of which looked great ! everyone around me was going gaga over the durian and avocado ice cream.

 

IMG_20160616_222923.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
