India Food Club

Connecting all foodies in India….

Mawa Madeleines

eat and dust

IMG_5993

This is my version of the much-loved Mumbai Mawa Cakes, first appeared in Mint Lounge on Saturday 22nd November…

I haven’t spent nearly enough time in Mumbai, a fact that was brought home to me yet again this week when I visited the kitschy-cute “Bombay food” restaurant SodaBottleOpener-Wala in Khan Market in New Delhi and cursed the fact that I have never visited a real Irani café. I probably need to get my skates on—Mumbai’s Irani cafés, complete with Victorian tiled flooring, eccentric signage and evocatively named dishes are fast disappearing. The most recent, much lamented closure was of B Merwan and Co., the 100-year-old bakery that claims to have invented the mawa cake back in the early 20th century. Mawa cake: two words which, I gather, can reduce a homesick Mumbaikar to tears, and I’m not surprised, if the SodaBottleOpenerWala’s version is anything to go by. I’ve heard that…

View original post 556 more words

About India Food Club

Connecting all travellers & foodies in India....

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
